Tags

, , , ,

wpid-audraered-2012-03-19-12-04.jpg

(My grandparents in the early 50’s)

I watched my grandmother work over a hot stove as she feverishly worked to cook her family a wonderful holiday meal. Every holiday, we gather at my grandparent’s house and every time, my grandmother is in the kitchen 80% of the time, cooking and working so hard. Regardless of how many times the family attempted to step in and help, she would shoo us out of the kitchen by whipping her dish towel at us.

Audrae has done this for 30+ years and continues to do it to this day. She doesn’t take praise very well and always refuses credit for the beautiful meals she magically creates.

I decided that the only way I could tell her how much she means to me and the family (and to get her to listen!) was to write a heartfelt thank you note. In the letter, I told her that I loved her and have always appreciated her abilities to create harmony out of chaos and all with a smile on her face. A week later, I received a very loving letter from her expressing her appreciation and love for me. It instantly melted my heart.

Why is it that the simply art of a thank you has seem to go lost amongst today’s generations? I remember being taught from a very early age that when somebody goes out of their way to do something nice for you, you say thank you.

When a nice gesture is exchanged between you and another person, you say thank you.

When somebody opens the door for you, you say thank you.

When you receive a gift from somebody, you say thank you.

I’ve been debating on whether I should write this post because to me, this seems like common sense and didn’t feel the need to *announce* this to the world. Quite frankly, I am surprised with the inability of some to formulate two simple words :: THANK.YOU.

And that makes me sad.

You never know how a handwritten note, a quick text or simple email of thanks will be met by the other person. They could be having the crummiest of days and they get your quick note of thanks, and then all of a sudden they have a little spring in their step. I don’t know about you, but I think that’s pretty cool.

So engaged couples, I have a few tips for you to make sure you don’t forget to say thank.you.

  1. Tell each other thank you often; if your fiancé folds the towels and puts them away for you, without being asked. Say thank.you.
  2. Send a quick note of thanks to your wedding vendors who are helping you throughout the process. We LOVE to hear a simple “thank.you” if we’re doing a great job.
  3. Let your family know how much they mean to you during your wedding planning process. Make it heartfelt and personal. Even though you think you’re the only one going through the process of getting married, sorry friends, this isn’t the case. Your entire family is going through this with you and these events are a huge change for them as well. Say thank.you.

If you’re worried about *how* to say thank you in a more formal way, take a peek here.

When in doubt, send it out.

wpid-thank-you-01-copy-2012-03-19-12-04.jpg

(thedtales.com)

*Heather

